Reading at St Luke’s


We will be continuing with our ‘Reading Championships’ this year, please click here to find out more information.

At St Luke’s we approach the teaching and learning of reading through a programme of systematic synthetic phonics, guided reading and by providing pupils with books to take home and practice with.

In our infants our phonic programme is based upon the Letters and Sounds resource published by the Department for Education and Skills in 2007. It aims to build children’s speaking and listening skills in their own right as well as to prepare children for learning to read by developing their phonic knowledge and skills. It sets out a detailed and systematic programme for teaching phonic skills for children with the aim of them becoming fluent readers by age seven.

There are six overlapping phases. The table below is a summary based on the Letters and Sounds guidance for Practioners and Teachers. For more detailed information, visit the Letters and Sounds website.

Phase One(Nursery/Reception) Activities are divided into seven aspects, including environmental sounds, instrumental sounds, body sounds, rhythm and rhyme, alliteration, voice sounds and finally oral blending and segmenting.
Phase Two(Reception)
Learning 19 letters of the alphabet and one sound for each. Blending sounds together to make words. Segmenting words into their separate sounds. Beginning to read simple captions.
Phase Three(Reception)
The remaining 7 letters of the alphabet, one sound for each. Graphemes such as ch, oo, th representing the remaining phonemes not covered by single letters. Reading captions, sentences and questions. On completion of this phase, children will have learnt the “simple code”, i.e. one grapheme for each phoneme in the English language.
Phase Four(Beginning of year 1)
 No new grapheme-phoneme correspondences are taught in this phase. Children learn to blend and segment longer words with adjacent consonants, e.g. swim, clap, jump.
Phase Five(Throughout Year 1)   Now we move on to the “complex code”. Children learn more graphemes for the phonemes which they already know, plus different ways of pronouncing the graphemes they already know.
Phase Six(Throughout Year 2 and beyond)   Working on spelling, including prefixes and suffixes, doubling and dropping letters etc.

Key Stage 2:

Reading within Key Stage Two follows on and builds upon the foundations set within Key Stage One.  Books are banded into colour bands with a range of books in each band.  Children have a choice of real books carefully selected for content with a range of fiction and non- fiction titles.  Or they can choose a book from one of two schemes – Oxford Reading Tree or Project X.  Oxford Reading Tree has the same familiar characters as the books in Key Stage One whereas the Project X books have cartoon graphics and a set of characters that are designed to reflect the children who are reading them.

Children are encouraged from Year 3 to Year 6 to select their own take home books from their colour band.  Once children have confidently moved through all the bands they progress onto library books and are similarly encouraged to select their own books to take home and read.  These books have a more challenging content for the children and extend their learning further.

Here at St Luke’s we ensure that reading is an integral part of the curriculum in all subjects. We have a range of fiction and non-fiction books.